# Hoppscotch vs Apidog (2026): which to pick

> Hoppscotch vs Apidog: Pick Hoppscotch for a light, open source client in the browser that you can self-host. Pick Apidog for one platform that designs,…

Canonical: https://porticol.app/compare/hoppscotch-vs-apidog
Last updated: 2026-10-20

Pick Hoppscotch for a light, open source client in the browser that you can self-host. Pick Apidog for one platform that designs, documents, mocks and tests APIs, free for up to four users.

## Choose Hoppscotch if

- You want a light client, not a platform.
- You want to self-host an MIT-licensed client.
- You want nothing to install.

## Choose Apidog if

- You design APIs and publish docs from the same project.
- A team of up to four wants it free.
- Your agents need an MCP server.

- Hoppscotch Business, 10 people **$720** a year
- Apidog Basic, 10 people **$1,080** a year

## Where they differ

## Price

For a team of 10, a year of Hoppscotch Business costs $720 and Apidog Basic $1,080, so Hoppscotch Business saves $360.

- **Hoppscotch**: Free, with a personal workspace and the collection runner [1]; Business $6, Enterprise $11 a user a month, billed annually [1]
- **Apidog**: Free for up to four users [2]; Basic $9, Professional $18, Enterprise $27 a user a month, billed yearly [2]

## Where your work lives

Hoppscotch keeps your work on your computer, while Apidog keeps work on your computer only in some setups.

- **Hoppscotch**: Yes, in local session storage or the desktop app [3]; Yes; signing in is for syncing between devices [3]
- **Apidog**: In an Offline Space in the desktop app [4]; Not stated [2]

## AI coding agents

Hoppscotch offers an MCP server only on some plans or setups, while Apidog has an MCP server for coding agents.

- **Hoppscotch**: On the Business cloud plan or a self-hosted instance, with an account [1,5]
- **Apidog**: Yes, with a personal access token from an Apidog account [6]

## Side by side

|  | Hoppscotch | Apidog |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free plan | Free, with a personal workspace and the collection runner [1] | Free for up to four users [2] |
| Paid plans | Business $6, Enterprise $11 a user a month, billed annually [1] | Basic $9, Professional $18, Enterprise $27 a user a month, billed yearly [2] |
| Use it without an account | Yes; signing in is for syncing between devices [3] | Not stated [2] |
| Collections kept on your computer | Yes, in local session storage or the desktop app [3] | In an Offline Space in the desktop app [4] |
| Collections as files in Git | Not stated [3] | Not stated [2] |
| MCP server for coding agents | On the Business cloud plan or a self-hosted instance, with an account [1,5] | Yes, with a personal access token from an Apidog account [6] |
| CLI for CI | Yes, the Hoppscotch CLI [3] | Yes, the Apidog CLI on every plan [2] |

Every fact comes from each app's own pages, checked on 20 Oct 2026. The numbers link to the sources at the end.

## What each does better

### Where Hoppscotch is stronger

- Hoppscotch is open source under the MIT licence and can be self-hosted. [3]
- It runs in a browser with nothing to install. [3]

### Where Apidog is stronger

- Apidog's free plan covers up to four users. [2]
- It publishes interactive API documentation from the same project. [2]

## Or skip both: Porticol

Porticol keeps your work on your computer and has an MCP server for coding agents, and opened its first window in 0.24 s in our benchmark. Free for one seat.

## Questions

**Do Hoppscotch and Apidog keep collections on your computer?**

Hoppscotch: Yes, in local session storage or the desktop app. Apidog: In an Offline Space in the desktop app.

**Do Hoppscotch and Apidog have an MCP server for AI agents?**

Hoppscotch: On the Business cloud plan or a self-hosted instance, with an account. Apidog: Yes, with a personal access token from an Apidog account.

**How much do Hoppscotch and Apidog cost?**

Hoppscotch: Free, with a personal workspace and the collection runner; Business $6, Enterprise $11 a user a month, billed annually. Apidog: Free for up to four users; Basic $9, Professional $18, Enterprise $27 a user a month, billed yearly. For a team of 10, a year of Hoppscotch Business costs $720 and Apidog Basic $1,080, so Hoppscotch Business saves $360.

**Is there an alternative to both Hoppscotch and Apidog?**

Yes, Porticol. Porticol keeps your work on your computer and has an MCP server for coding agents, and opened its first window in 0.24 s in our benchmark. Free for one seat.

## Sources

1. [hoppscotch.com/pricing](https://hoppscotch.com/pricing)
2. [apidog.com/pricing/](https://apidog.com/pricing/)
3. [github.com/hoppscotch/hoppscotch](https://github.com/hoppscotch/hoppscotch)
4. [apidog.com/blog/best-offline-api-client/](https://apidog.com/blog/best-offline-api-client/)
5. [docs.hoppscotch.io/documentation/clients/mcp-server/overview](https://docs.hoppscotch.io/documentation/clients/mcp-server/overview)
6. [docs.apidog.com/apidog-mcp-server](https://docs.apidog.com/apidog-mcp-server)

## Related comparisons

- [Yaak vs Hoppscotch](https://porticol.app/compare/yaak-vs-hoppscotch)
- [Porticol vs Hoppscotch](https://porticol.app/compare/hoppscotch)
- [Porticol vs Apidog](https://porticol.app/compare/apidog)
- [The best Postman alternative](https://porticol.app/postman-alternative)
