Hoppscotch vs Apidog
Pick Hoppscotch for a light, open source client in the browser that you can self-host. Pick Apidog for one platform that designs, documents, mocks and tests APIs, free for up to four users.
Choose Hoppscotch if
- You want a light client, not a platform.
- You want to self-host an MIT-licensed client.
- You want nothing to install.
Choose Apidog if
- You design APIs and publish docs from the same project.
- A team of up to four wants it free.
- Your agents need an MCP server.
- Hoppscotch Business, 10 people$720a year
- Apidog Basic, 10 people$1,080a year
Where they differ
Price
For a team of 10, a year of Hoppscotch Business costs $720 and Apidog Basic $1,080, so Hoppscotch Business saves $360.
Where your work lives
AI coding agents
Side by side
| Hoppscotch | Apidog | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free, with a personal workspace and the collection runner1 | Free for up to four users2 |
| Paid plans | Business $6, Enterprise $11 a user a month, billed annually1 | Basic $9, Professional $18, Enterprise $27 a user a month, billed yearly2 |
| Use it without an account | Yes; signing in is for syncing between devices3 | Not stated2 |
| Collections kept on your computer | Yes, in local session storage or the desktop app3 | In an Offline Space in the desktop app4 |
| Collections as files in Git | Not stated3 | Not stated2 |
| MCP server for coding agents | On the Business cloud plan or a self-hosted instance, with an account1,5 | Yes, with a personal access token from an Apidog account6 |
| CLI for CI | Yes, the Hoppscotch CLI3 | Yes, the Apidog CLI on every plan2 |
Every fact comes from each app's own pages, checked on 20 Oct 2026. The numbers link to the sources at the end.
What each does better
Where Hoppscotch is stronger
Or skip both: Porticol
Porticol keeps your work on your computer and has an MCP server for coding agents, and opened its first window in 0.24 s in our benchmark. Free for one seat.
Questions
Do Hoppscotch and Apidog keep collections on your computer?
Hoppscotch: Yes, in local session storage or the desktop app. Apidog: In an Offline Space in the desktop app.
Do Hoppscotch and Apidog have an MCP server for AI agents?
Hoppscotch: On the Business cloud plan or a self-hosted instance, with an account. Apidog: Yes, with a personal access token from an Apidog account.
How much do Hoppscotch and Apidog cost?
Hoppscotch: Free, with a personal workspace and the collection runner; Business $6, Enterprise $11 a user a month, billed annually. Apidog: Free for up to four users; Basic $9, Professional $18, Enterprise $27 a user a month, billed yearly. For a team of 10, a year of Hoppscotch Business costs $720 and Apidog Basic $1,080, so Hoppscotch Business saves $360.
Is there an alternative to both Hoppscotch and Apidog?
Yes, Porticol. Porticol keeps your work on your computer and has an MCP server for coding agents, and opened its first window in 0.24 s in our benchmark. Free for one seat.
Sources
- hoppscotch.com/pricing
- apidog.com/pricing/
- github.com/hoppscotch/hoppscotch
- apidog.com/blog/best-offline-api-client/
- docs.hoppscotch.io/documentation/clients/mcp-server/overview
- docs.apidog.com/apidog-mcp-server